Part of the WFMT Radio Network

Beethoven at Parnassus, Part II

In the second part of a two-week series, we'll take an in-depth look at this music of a master reaching the pinnacle of his abilities. Bill starts with Missa Solemnis and Consecration of the House and ends in the rarified atmosphere of Mt. Parnassus as we take in Opus 135 performed by the Guarneri Quartet. Robert Schumann said, “[Beethoven’s quartets] stand...on the extreme boundary of all that has hitherto been attained by human art and imagination.” In 1977 his quartets were added to the Time Capsule of Humanity and sent into space in Voyager 1.

Program 1

Beethoven: Missa Solemnis, Op. 123
New Philharmonia Orchestra & amp; Chorus/Klemperer;  Söderström, s.; Kmentt, t.; Höffgen, alto; Talvela, b.
EMI 67547
9:26, 18:18, :30, 20:37

Program 2

Beethoven: Missa solemnis, Op. 123
     Agnus Dei
     Dona nobis pacem
New Philharmonia Orchestra & Chorus/Klemperer; Söderström, s.; Kmentt, t.; Höffgen, alto; Talvela, b.
EMI 67547
1:06, 1:39, 31:01

Beethoven: Consecration Of The House Overture, Op. 124
New York Philharmonic Orchestra/Bernstein
Sony 47521
9:52, :54

Beethoven: String Quartet #12 In E-Flat, Op. 127
     I. Maestoso, Allegro
Hagen Quartet
DG 4775705

Program 3

Beethoven: String Quartet No. 13 in B-flat Major, Op. 130
Emerson Quartet
DG 447075
1:03, 1:17, 25:12, 21:55, 3:06


Program 4

Beethoven: String Quartet in C# minor, Op. 131
Orion Quartet
Koch 7683
1:16, 38:83

Beethoven: Bagatelles, Op. 126
     No. 1 in G Major - Andante con moto cantabile e
    No. 6 in E-Flat Major- Presto; Andante amabile e con
    No. 5 in G Major- Quasi Allegretto
Glenn Gould, p.
Sony 541287
9:26, 2:15


Program 5

Beethoven: String Quartet #15 In A Minor, Op. 132
Heiliger Dankgesang

     2. Allegro Ma Non Tanto (excerpt)
     3. Molto Adagio
     4. Alla Marcia, Assai Vivace
     5. Allegro Appassionato
Budapest Quartet
Sony Classical 62873
1:12, 1:36, 24:31

Beethoven: String Quartet in F, Op. 135
     1. Allegretto
     2. Vivace
     3. Lento assai, cantante e tranquillo
     4. Der schwer gefasste Entschluss: Grave - Allegro
Guarneri Quartet
Phi 422059


The Exploring Music streaming website is supported by Mr. & Mrs. William Gardner Brown and the Richard P. and Susan Kiphart Family.  
You have opened up the world of Classical Music to me, where previously, it seemed too complicated.
Steffen Demeter
This is simply one of the very best radio programmes in the medium!...The study of the people, the times, and the events that inform the music we otherwise enjoy and even, heaven forbid, take for granted, brings the entire world of the music and the composer to life.
Walther Davies
There isn't a program you broadcast on Exploring Music" that isn't of interest. I find them all engaging. It is a combination of variety of subject, intellectual curiosity and your obvious enthusiasm which characterize your satisfying programs.
Michael Sanders
It’s a great way to re-engage myself with consciousness before heading off to work.
I Love this program! I am in 7th grade and I am the complete opposite of the other kids. I am 4th chair in the orchestra and I love to read. But most of all, I LOVE classical music!
Claudia Wertz
Your show has helped open my mind and heart to this world of music, and every show I hear confirms my place in music and gives me new ideas for where I'd like to go with it in the future….I grew up with classical music as a child and always held it in my heart, but I didn't have the confidence to be a good student (or a good violinist.)
Christine Anderson
Listening to you is almost interactive.You invite us in with so many well modulated dramatic and informative comments, enticing, enthusiastic interpretations, and coherent, beautiful presentations. It's a privilege to follow you into the musical space you create.
Sally Rosenbaum
I just love this program. It is soothing and comfortable at the end of the day. I find his comments interesting, but they aren't so dragged out that there is very little music. The balance of both is just right.
Jean Quay
Newsletters Thank You!