Part of the WFMT Radio Network

Mozart: Bright Lights, Big City

Mozart gets the boot from the Archbishop and moves from his hometown of Salzburg to the music capital of Vienna. This cosmopolitan world opened Mozart’s eyes and ears to a creative world that he expresses so beautifully in his music.

Program 1

Mozart: Mass in C Major, Coronation (excerpts)
Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra and Chorus/Koopman
Era 0630-10705
1:32, 14:05

Mozart: Serenade No. 9 in D Major, Posthorn, IV & VI
Prague Chamber Orchestra/Mackerras
Tel 80108

Mozart: Idomeneo (excerpts)
Metropolitan Opera Chorus/Levine
Bartoli, ms.; Domingo, ten.; Vaness, s.
DG 447 737
4:19, 4:27, 3:04, 6:51, 4:51


Program 2

Mozart: Sonata for Piano No. 11 in A Major
Brendel, p.
Phil 446921

Mozart: Abduction from the Seraglio (excerpts)
Scottish Chamber Orchestra/Mackerras
Kodalli, s.
Tel 80544
4:16, 9:25

Mozart: Serenade for Winds No. 10 in B flat Major, Gran Partita, I & III
Orpheus Chamber Orchestra
DG 423061


Program 3

Mozart: Symphony No. 35, Haffner, I, II & IV
Berlin Philharmonic/Böhm
DG 447417

Mozart: Mass in C Minor, Great (excerpts)
Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra & Chorus/Bernstein
DG 431791
9:46, 7:44

Mozart: String Quartet No. 15 in D Minor, I
Alban Berg Quartet
EMI 63858

Mozart: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 1, finale
English Chamber Orchestra/Perahia
Perahia, p.
CBS 42243

Program 4

Mozart: Symphony No. 36, Linz, I
Berlin Philharmonic/Böhm

Mozart: Quartet for Strings No. 19 in C Major, Dissonance, I
Emerson Quartet
CBS 37236

Mozart: Concerto for Piano No. 20 in D Minor, I & II
Columbia Symphony Orchestra/Szell
R. Serkin, p.
Phil 412737
3:54, 2:47

Mozart: Concerto for Horn No. 4, II & excerpt
St. Paul Chamber Orchestra/Wolff
Baumann, hn.
DG 447416


Program 5

Mozart: Quintet for Piano and Winds, I
Barenboim, p.; Clevenger, hn.; Damiano, bsn.; Combs, cl.; Schellenberger, ob.
Erato 96359

Mozart: Quartet for Piano and Strings No. 1 in G Minor, I
Schneider, v.; Tree, vla.; Soyer, vc.; P. Serkin, p.
Van 8007

Mozart: Concerto for Piano No. 22 in E flat Major, II & III
English Chamber Orchestra/Davis
Larrocha, p.
RCA 61698

Mozart: The Marriage of Figaro, overture
Vienna Philharmonic/E. Kleiber
Lon 41731



The Exploring Music streaming website is supported by Mr. & Mrs. William Gardner Brown and the Richard P. and Susan Kiphart Family.  
You have opened up the world of Classical Music to me, where previously, it seemed too complicated.
Steffen Demeter
This is simply one of the very best radio programmes in the medium!...The study of the people, the times, and the events that inform the music we otherwise enjoy and even, heaven forbid, take for granted, brings the entire world of the music and the composer to life.
Walther Davies
There isn't a program you broadcast on Exploring Music" that isn't of interest. I find them all engaging. It is a combination of variety of subject, intellectual curiosity and your obvious enthusiasm which characterize your satisfying programs.
Michael Sanders
It’s a great way to re-engage myself with consciousness before heading off to work.
I Love this program! I am in 7th grade and I am the complete opposite of the other kids. I am 4th chair in the orchestra and I love to read. But most of all, I LOVE classical music!
Claudia Wertz
Your show has helped open my mind and heart to this world of music, and every show I hear confirms my place in music and gives me new ideas for where I'd like to go with it in the future….I grew up with classical music as a child and always held it in my heart, but I didn't have the confidence to be a good student (or a good violinist.)
Christine Anderson
Listening to you is almost interactive.You invite us in with so many well modulated dramatic and informative comments, enticing, enthusiastic interpretations, and coherent, beautiful presentations. It's a privilege to follow you into the musical space you create.
Sally Rosenbaum
I just love this program. It is soothing and comfortable at the end of the day. I find his comments interesting, but they aren't so dragged out that there is very little music. The balance of both is just right.
Jean Quay
Newsletters Thank You!