Part of the WFMT Radio Network

Music of Scandinavia Purchase Now 

This week, we turn our attention to the idyllic beauty of Scandinavia, with compositions from Sweden, Denmark, and everywhere in between.  Featuring selections from Grieg, Langgard and more.

Program 1

Wilhelm Peterson-Berger: “Fridolins Lustgård” V. Aspåkers-Polska   
Anne Sofie Von Otter,s. Bengt Forsberg. p.
DG 449189-2
Johan Helmich Roman: Drottningholmsmusiken
1 Presto - Lento - Viviace
Drottningholm Festival Orchestra/Seg Westerberg                
Discofil 1019
Purchase Similar
Franz Berwald: “Estrella De Soria” Tragic Overture
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra/Ulf Björlin                 
EMI 65866
Purchase Similar
Franz Berwald: Symphony No. 4 In E Flat, "Sinfonie Naïve" -
I. Allegro Risoluto; II. Adagio

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra/Ulf Björlin
EMI 65866
Purchase Similar
Wilhelm Stenhammar: Serenade In F Major, Op. 31
I. Overtura, Allegrissimo; II. Reverenza          

Neeme Järvi & Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra
Bis 310
Stenhammar: Visor Och Stämningar, Op. 26
5. Det Far Ett Skepp (A Ship is Sailing)       

Anne Sofie Von Otter, Bengt Forsberg
DG 449189

Program 2

Ture Rangström: Melodi        
Anne Sofie Von Otter, Bengt Forsberg
DG 449189
Wilhelm Petersen-Berger: Jungfrun under Lind
Jussi Björling, t.
RCA 60520 
Wilhelm Stenhammar - Stjarnoga, Op. 20, No. 1     
Haken Hagegard, Warren Jones
RCA 68097

Johan Helmich Roman: Sinfonia No. 16 D-major    
Drottningholm Festival Orchestra/ Seg Westerberg
Discofil 1019
Purchase Similar
Hugo Alfven: Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 11
III: Allegro       

Ireland National Symphony Orchestra/ Niklas Willen
Naxos: 8.555072
Kurt Atterberg: Earth  
Lars-Erik Larson: Earth's Moon - Jealous onlooker -
Kurt Atterberg: Titan - Giant moon of Saturn
Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra; Ulf Björlin
EMI 56151
Purchase Similar
Hugo Alfven Swedish Rhapsody No. 1 for Orchestra, Op. 19 "Midsommarvaka" (1903)
Esa-Pekka Salonen: Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra
Sony 46668
Ragnar Althen: Land, du vâlsignade, Thou Blessed Land
Jussi Björling  
Nimbus 7879

Program 3

Ole Bull: I Ensomme Stunde 
Arve Tellefsen, v. Havard Gimse, p.
Simax 1312    
Purchase Similar
Ole Bull: Sæterjentens Søndag, The Herdgirl's Sunday       
Arve Tellefsen, Trondheim Symphony Orchestra/ Evind Aadland
Simax 1312
Ole Bull: Et Sæterbesøg, A Mountain Vision
Arve Tellefsen
Simax 1312

Ole Bull: Andante Maestoso, from Agiaco Cubano  
Arve Tellefsen, vln.
Simax 1312
Purchase Similar
Ole Bull: Cantabile Doloroso E Rondo Giocoso        
Arve Tellefsen
Simax 1312
Purchase Similar

Ole Bull From Polacca Guerriera      
Arve Tellefsen, vln.
Simax 1312

Edvard Grieg: Cello Sonata In A Minor, Op. 36 -
1. Allegro Agitato

Truls Mørk, Cl. Havard Gimse, Pn.
Virgin Classics 5450342
Purchase Similar

Edvard Grieg: Norwegian Dances, Op. 35 No.2 and No. 1
Michala Petri, Recorder
RCA 68769

Program 4

Edvard Grieg: Peer Gynt Suite #1, Op. 46 - Morning Mood 
Herbert Von Karajan: Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra
DG 000035202
Grieg: Piano Concerto In A Minor, Op. 16, 1. Allegro Moderato               
Leif Ove Andsnes, p. Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra/Dmitri Kitajenko, c.
Virgin 91198
Purchase Similar
Grieg: String Quartet In G Minor, Op. 27 -
1. Un Poco Andante, Allegro Molto Ed Agitato 2. Romanze: Andantino
4. Finale: Lento, Presto Al Saltarello
Truls Mørk, Solve Sigerland, Lars Anders Tomter, Atle Sponberg
Virgin 45505
Grieg: Lyric Pieces, Book 1, Op. 72 
 Summer Evening; Remembrances

Leif Ove Andsnes
EMI 57296

Program 5

Friedrich Ludwig Aemilius Kunzen: The Hallelujah Of Creation
I. O Gott!: Und Leben, II. Licht Und Freud' Ist Ewig
III. Heilig! Heilig! Heilig! IV. Lob Und Ehre Dem Ewigen!

Danish National Radio Symphony Orchestra/ Peter Marschik
Susanne Elmark,s.
DaCapo/ Marco Polo 8.224070
Carl Nielsen: Symphony #4, Op. 29, "The Inextinguishable" IV. Allegro      
New York Philharmonic Orchestra/ Alan Gilbert, c. 
DaCapo 6.220624
Nielsen: Symphony #5, Op. 50
I. Tempo Giusto  II. Adagio Non Troppo (beginning)
III. Allegro    
Herbert Blomstedt: Danish Radio Symphony Orchestra
Dacapo 8.206002
11:51, 2:39
Rued Langgaard: String Quartet #1, BVN 68
1. Andante Ma Non Troppo, Piu Tranquillo   

Nightingale Quartet
Dacapo 6.220577
Rued Langgaard: Symphony No. 4
I. Skovbrus (Rustle in the Forest) II. Solstrejf (Glimpse of the Sun)
III. Allargando

Danish National Radio Symphony Orchestra/Neeme Järvi, c.  
Chandos 9064
Carl Nielsen: Strofiske Sange, Op. 21, FS 42, Book 1: No. 2.
Saenk Kun Dit Hoved, Du Blomst (Just Lower Thy Head, O Flower)      
Bo Skovhus, Danish National Symphony Orchestra & Michael Schonwandt
Purchase Similar


The Exploring Music streaming website is made possible by Mr. & Mrs. William Gardner Brown and Susan & Richard Kiphart.

Thanks to Oxford Music Online, the home of Grove® Music Online and the access point for other Oxford online music reference subscriptions.

You have opened up the world of Classical Music to me, where previously, it seemed too complicated.
Steffen Demeter
This is simply one of the very best radio programmes in the medium!...The study of the people, the times, and the events that inform the music we otherwise enjoy and even, heaven forbid, take for granted, brings the entire world of the music and the composer to life.
Walther Davies
There isn't a program you broadcast on Exploring Music" that isn't of interest. I find them all engaging. It is a combination of variety of subject, intellectual curiosity and your obvious enthusiasm which characterize your satisfying programs.
Michael Sanders
It’s a great way to re-engage myself with consciousness before heading off to work.
I Love this program! I am in 7th grade and I am the complete opposite of the other kids. I am 4th chair in the orchestra and I love to read. But most of all, I LOVE classical music!
Claudia Wertz
Your show has helped open my mind and heart to this world of music, and every show I hear confirms my place in music and gives me new ideas for where I'd like to go with it in the future….I grew up with classical music as a child and always held it in my heart, but I didn't have the confidence to be a good student (or a good violinist.)
Christine Anderson
Listening to you is almost interactive.You invite us in with so many well modulated dramatic and informative comments, enticing, enthusiastic interpretations, and coherent, beautiful presentations. It's a privilege to follow you into the musical space you create.
Sally Rosenbaum
I just love this program. It is soothing and comfortable at the end of the day. I find his comments interesting, but they aren't so dragged out that there is very little music. The balance of both is just right.
Jean Quay
Newsletters Thank You!