Part of the WFMT Radio Network

To the Finland Station, Part II

“The theme of my fifth symphony is the making of man.”   —D. Shostakovich.  In 1949, Dmitry Shostakovich traveled for the first time to New York to play his 5th Symphony on the piano, to 30,000 listeners at Madison Square Garden. The shy Shostakovich traveled and performed this concert at the request of Joseph Stalin. Making of mankind was a theme of many artists in the 30’s. These artists used creativity to reply to tumultuous political times, sometimes writing complete symphonies in a matter of weeks, and because of the current political environment, the public didn’t hear these works for decades. This week is the second part in our a two-week journey into the hidden phrases and chords that these Russian musicians used to express their inner thoughts and creativity on this historical path. Bill will feature composers from both sides of the Iron Curtain.

Program 1

Dmitri Shostakovich: Scherzo for Orchestra in F-Sharp Minor, Op. 1
USSR Ministry of Culture Orchestra/Gennadi Rosdhestvenski
Melodiya 59058


Dmitri Shostakovich: Three Fantastic Dances Op. 5
1.  Andantino
2.    Allegretto
Ludovic Vaillant, trumpet; Dimitri Shostakovich, piano
EMI 62648
1:14, 0:50


Dmitri Shostakovich: 2 Fables of Krilov, Op. 4: No. 2. The Donkey and the Nightingale
Lyudmila Shkirtil
Melodiya 59058


Dmitri Shostakovich: Suite in F-Sharp Minor, Op. 6: II. Danse fantastique
Margarete Babinsky; Holger Busch
Capriccio 1087


Dimitri Shostakovich: Piano Trio no. 1, op 8: Andante
Arabesque Z6698


Dimitri Shostakovich: Symphony No 1 IV.Allegro molto
USSR Ministry Of Culture Symphony Orchestra/Gennady Rozhdestvensky
Melodiya 49611


Dmitri Shostakovich: The Nose
I.  Introduction
II.  Ivan Yakovlevich'S Barber Shop
V.  Kovalyov's Bedroom
VI.  Gallop
Soloists; Chorus & Orchestra Of The Moscow Chamber Opera/Gennady
2:04, 3:42, 3:03, 1:54


Program 2

Sergei Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No.3 - Allegro ma non troppo
Prokofiev; London S.O/Coppola
Naxos 8.110670


Sergei Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 1 in D Major, Op. 19:
I.  Andantino
II.  Scherzo
III.  Moderato
David Oistrakh; London Symphony Orchestra/Lovro von Matačić
Warner Classics 14712
9:44, 3:52, 7:45


Sergei Prokofiev: Lieutenant Kijé, Op. 60
I.  The Birth Of Kijé
IV.  Troika
V.  Kijé's Funeral
Chicago Symphony Orchestra/Claudio Abbado
DG 447419
4:10,  2:44,  5:55


Dmitri Shostakovich: Concerto for Piano, Trumpet and Strings in C Minor, Op. 35, IV. Allegro brio
Mikhail Rudy; Berlin Philharmonic/Mariss Jansons
EMI 55361



Program 3

Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet Introduction
Juliet as a Young Girl Balcony Scene
The Duel
Romeo Decides to Avenge Mercutio Finale
USSR State Symphony Orchestra/Algis Ziuratis
MCA Classics 2-32116
2:24, 2:54, 3:29, 1:32, 2:06, 2:02


Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet, Suite No. 2, Op. 64, 7. Romeo at Juliet's Grave
Boston Symphony Orchestra/Serge Koussevitzky
RCA 61657


Prokofiev: Alexander Nevsky, Op. 78 Russia Under The Mongol Yoke
The Crusaders In Pskov Arise, Ye Russian People The Battle On The Ice
Alexander's Entry Into Pskov
London Symphony Orchestra and Chorus/Claudio Abbado
DG 447419
3:09, 6:40, 2:20, 12:04, 4:49


Program 4

Dmitri Shostakovich: Symphony #5 In D Minor, Op. 47, III. Largo
Gennady Rozhdestvensky: USSR Ministry Of Culture Symphony Orchestra
MEL/BMG 49611


Dmitri Shostakovich: Symphony #5 In D Minor, Op. 47, IV Allegro Non Troppo
Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra/Yevgeny Mravinsky
Erato 2292-45752-2


Dmitri Shostakovich: Symphony #5 In D Minor, Op. 47, IV. Allegro non troppo
New York Philharmonic/Leonard Bernstein
CBS 57218


Serge Prokofiev: Symphony #5 In B Flat, Op. 100,
1. Andante
4. Allegro Giocoso
Valery Gergiev: London Symphony Orchestra
PHI 4757655
12:35, 9:08


Program 5

Shostakovich: Piano Trio No.2 in E minor Op.67, III Largo
Beaux Arts Trio
Warner 62514


Shostakovich: Piano Trio No.2 in E minor Op.67, IV Allegretto
Beaux Arts Trio
Warner 62514


Yevtuskeno: Babi Yar
Antony Hopkins
London 444791


Shostakovich: Symphony #13 In B Flat Minor, Op. 113, "Babi Yar,”
1. Babi Yar
Sergei Alexashkin; Chicago Symphony Orchestra & Chorus/Georg Solti
London 444791


Shostakovich: Symphony No.15 A-Dur, Op.141, IV. Adagio. Allegretto
Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra/Evgeny Mravinsky
Melodiya/BMG 25192



The Exploring Music streaming website is supported by Mr. & Mrs. William Gardner Brown and the Richard P. and Susan Kiphart Family.  
You have opened up the world of Classical Music to me, where previously, it seemed too complicated.
Steffen Demeter
This is simply one of the very best radio programmes in the medium!...The study of the people, the times, and the events that inform the music we otherwise enjoy and even, heaven forbid, take for granted, brings the entire world of the music and the composer to life.
Walther Davies
There isn't a program you broadcast on Exploring Music" that isn't of interest. I find them all engaging. It is a combination of variety of subject, intellectual curiosity and your obvious enthusiasm which characterize your satisfying programs.
Michael Sanders
It’s a great way to re-engage myself with consciousness before heading off to work.
I Love this program! I am in 7th grade and I am the complete opposite of the other kids. I am 4th chair in the orchestra and I love to read. But most of all, I LOVE classical music!
Claudia Wertz
Your show has helped open my mind and heart to this world of music, and every show I hear confirms my place in music and gives me new ideas for where I'd like to go with it in the future….I grew up with classical music as a child and always held it in my heart, but I didn't have the confidence to be a good student (or a good violinist.)
Christine Anderson
Listening to you is almost interactive.You invite us in with so many well modulated dramatic and informative comments, enticing, enthusiastic interpretations, and coherent, beautiful presentations. It's a privilege to follow you into the musical space you create.
Sally Rosenbaum
I just love this program. It is soothing and comfortable at the end of the day. I find his comments interesting, but they aren't so dragged out that there is very little music. The balance of both is just right.
Jean Quay
Newsletters Thank You!